While I was away…

 

Actually I was at a loss for a moment because I don’t know what drama to watch now that I have finished watching the epic Signal and amazing Descendants of the sun. I know some might say that Signal is way better and DOTS is a melodrama fantasy but hey to each her/his own. Right? I am the type who is open to any storyline as long as the story catches my attention. I won’t hesitate to drop a drama if I find the storyline to spiral downwards even if I love the actor/ actress playing the leads. Anyway, while deciding what drama to watch, I spotted Song Hye Kyo’s instagram post asking her followers to warmly watch a drama titled Dear My Friends.

I have seen a few articles popping up over the internet about this drama and the main reason for me to watch it is Lee Kwangsoo. Heheh. I’m his fan from Running Man and have been following his acting career to know that his acting is gold. Another plus would be Jo In Sung who I followed since It’s OK, It’s Love. So here are my thoughts on the drama so far…

I FREAKIN’ LOVE IT! This is not like any other dramas I’ve seen before. It made me laugh out loud, grin like mad, wrack me with sadness, sometimes left me fuming angrily and get annoyed incessantly over the plot which hits so close to home. This drama is unique because it celebrates flaws. It is a perfect portrayal of imperfections simply because people in it are flawed. It uses humour to tackle the realities, particularly the pains of the elderly, disabled and the unmarried singles. But the thing I cherish the most is the portrayal of friendship especially how true friends play a big role in keeping your sanity if things go wrong in your family and love relations.

I’ve been reading people’s reaction to this drama and have to agree with them. The main characters are not eye candies. If that is what you’re looking for in a drama then I suggest you to look elsewhere unless a number of cameos from good looking faces would be enough to satisfy you. Heheh. But my heart goes out to these veterans! When they were laughing, having a good time and being just plain cheeky, I see beauty. You don’t need to look really hard because that inner child within the adults shone through. I mean let’s face it. You don’t see your parents laugh and play around like children because they put up a front where we know we can always depend on them. We know they are wise from their many experiences.

One thing for sure, this drama has no young male and female leads in the process of falling in love or searching for the one. There are also no second leads that would come in the way of their love. What you can find here is a drama that focuses on an older generation that has been through so much but still have more to give. This drama talks about the truth that older generations encounter in a small group of family and friends which deals with problems so huge and issues so real in their daily life as they grow older.

Leave a comment